Usted está aquí

Imagen de cubierta: JAZZ
ISBN: 
978-1-4000-7621-5
Editorial: 
Coleccion del libro: 
Idioma: 
Inglés
Número de páginas: 
256
Dimensiones:
130x205
Fecha edición:08/06/2004
descripcion alternativa Versión para impresión

Este libro tiene disponibilidad inmediata.

Preventa. Este libro se puede adquirir pero no se enviará hasta que el libro se edite y llegue a nuestros almacenes.

18,00€
In the winter of 1926, when everybody everywhere sees nothing but good things ahead, Joe Trace, middle-aged door-to-door salesman of Cleopatra beauty products, shoots his teenage lover to death. At the funeral, Joe s wife, Violet, attacks the girl s corpse. This passionate, profound story of love and obsession brings us back and forth in time, as a narrative is assembled from the emotions, hopes, fears, and deep realities of black urban life."


"Wonderful. . . . A brilliant, daring novel. . . . Every voice amazes." -- Chicago Tribune

"She may be the last classic American writer, squarely in the tradition of Poe, Melville, Twain and Faulkner." -- Newsweek

"[A] masterpiece. . . . She has moved from strength to strength until she has reached the distinction of being beyond comparison." -- Entertainment Weekly

"Thrillingly written . . . seductive. . . . Some of the finest lyric passages ever written in a modern novel." -- Chicago Sun-Times

"A compelling blend of heart and language. . . . Resounds with passion." -- The Boston Globe

"Marvelous. . . . Morrison is perhaps the finest novelist of our time." -- Vogue

"The author conjures up worlds with complete authority and makes no secret of her angst at the injustices dealt to black women." --Edna O'Brien, The New York Times Book Review

"She captures that almost indistinguishable mixture of the anxiety and rapture of expectation--that state of desire where sin is just another word for appetite." -- San Francisco Chronicle

"As rich in themes and poetic images as her Pulitzer Prize-winning Beloved. . . . Morrison conjures up the hand of slavery on Harlem's jazz generation. The more you listen, the more you crave to hear." -- Glamour

"She is the best writer in America. Jazz, for sure; but also Mozart." --John Leonard, National Public Radio

"A masterpiece. . . . A sensuous, haunting story of various kinds of passion. . . . Mesmerizing." -- Cosmopolitan

"Lyrically brooding. . . . One accepts the characters of Jazz as generalized figures moving rhythmically in the narrator's mind." -- The New York Times

"Transforms a familiar refrain of jilted love into a bold, sustaining time of self-knowledge and discovery. Its rhythms are infectious." -- People

Recomendaciones

MORRISON, TONI

Toni Morrison (1931-2019) nació en Lorain, Ohio. Profesora de humanidades en la Universidad de Princeton y escritora. En sus novelas se plantea la problemática de la población negra en Estados Unidos, sobre todo de las mujeres. Autora de Ojos azules (1970); Sula (1973); La canción de Salomón (1977), premiada con el National Critics Awards en 1978; La isla de los caballeros (1981); Beloved (1987), que obtuvo el premio Pulitzer en 1988; Jazz (1992); Amor (2004) y Una bendición (2008). En 1993 obtuvo el premio Nobel de Literatura. Read more about MORRISON, TONI

No hay comentarios
Añadir nuevo comentario